Casio Calculator Watches…the original smartwatch

Back in the mid 1980’s, miniaturization and micro electronics were coming into the mass market at prices people could afford.  Pocket television, pocketable computers, small calculators and digital watches were common place.  Digital Watches, which began as consumer products in the late seventies, were in full swing with watches that mimmicked analog watches, watches that played a game, ‘databank’ watches and calculator watches. 

CasioWatchOh man, the calculator watch.  Casio. 

I had to have one.

When they first came out, they were expensive.  But, seemingly, overnight, the price plunged and I could afford one.  I bought myself a Casio. I don’t remember the model number, but I recall it was sleek, black with white trim and it could store 16 memos or something like that. It was very cool.

I had that watch for years. In fact, I had it up until my last move, some five years ago. The case broke right where strap is held in place by the pin.  I think I replaced the battery once in the twenty some years I had it. WP_20160804_21_35_542_Pro

The calculator watch, like most digital watches, faded away.  Forgotten.  Or, so it seemed.

I don’t know if the current ‘smartwatch’ fad has anything to do with it, but I saw them on sale at my local CVS drug store.  For five dollars.  I had to buy it.

Now, this thing is cheap, it looks cheap and feels cheap.  But…it’s a bloody CAL-CU-LATOR WATCH!  How freaking cool is that?!  Is it just me?

Anyway, I don’t care how long it lasts, I like it and it took me down memory lane.   Best five dollars spent in a long time.

Leave a Reply

