64 bit graphical hand held

I read a post on Hackaday about a ‘64 bit graphics’ hand held game system powered by the atmel 328…an Arduino Uno like handheld.  Well, the headline was a bit deceptive, the 64 bit part was correct, as there is an 8×8 LED matrix being use for the ‘screen’. 

WP_20160702_03_18_57_Pro (2)This is actually something I had toyed with building for quite a while now.  I had seen several (Super Pixel Brothers being the first) and, after seeing this particular build, I thought…why not?  I have a lot of those matrices lying about, so I took my last unbuilt matrix (it was a ‘kit’) and used it as the basis of my console.

I used my previous handheld build as the basis for this one, which was also very similar to the Hackaday build.  I guess there aren’t many different to do this.

My build has four buttons: Reset, left, right and action.  I deviated from the article’s build and used a battery pack that has three AA batteries.  The unit ran nearly 24 hours on those three batteries.

While I have the hardware complete, I am working on software. The article’s build has six games: space invaders, pong, racing and three others.

So, I now have a piece of nice hardware and nothing running on it.  I’m thinking about adapting the Super Pixel Brothers to the handheld or doing a Space Invaders type game.  Not sure yet. Heck, I WP_20160630_21_10_14_Promay just put several pre-programmed messages and use the buttons to select them. 

What would you do?  Thoughts on software/games?  Leave them in the comments below.

 

Link to the Hackaday article: http://hackaday.com/2016/06/25/this-arduino-console-has-64-bit-graphics/

Leave a Reply

