Is Verizon getting a new Lumia phone?

12647246_962624217140667_8348549796545464349_nRecently, my Lumia Icon has been giving me some heartache. It’s been dropped several times and now has a chip in the glass, a long crack across the Nokia logo and the glass is starting to separate from the metal body.  So, I am going to have to replace it soon.  Problem is, I am on Verizon and I want another Icon like phone, running Windows Mobile 10. Something like the Lumia 950.

Well, last year, very publicly, Microsoft and Verizon seemed to have gone their separate ways.  Icon was dropped as an option and, it seemed that my choices required me to jump to AT and T.  They seem to get all of the ‘good’ phones anyway.

No, I do not want an iPhone.

No, I do not want an Android phone.

I want a Windows Mobile 10 phone.  Yes, I know it is a sinking ship, and I’ll go down with it, but, for now, that is what I want.  Not that Microsoft makes it easy to stay on that sinking hulk. No, they seem to go out of their way to make you want to jump overboard.

Not me.

Not yet.

So, frustration kicked in a few days ago and I’ve gone back and forth with Verizon over Twitter.  Up until today, all I got were comments like this:

Verizon Wireless CS@VZWSupport 12h12 hours ago

@geogray We certainly want you to have a device that you can enjoy. Here are more details regarding Windows OS http://vz.to/1Sfi3wF .

And that link takes you to the Verizon page with ALL TWO of the Windows phones they currently carry.  An LG Lancet and the Lumia 735. Neither phone is as good as the Icon and both are a year old or older. No thanks. 

However, to my surprise, the person followed that tweet with:

Verizon Wireless CS@VZWSupport 7h7 hours ago

@geogray I’m sorry to hear your equipment expectations hasn’t been met. Please keep stay tuned, new Lumia devices will launch soon.

I’m thinking, what!? So I ask:

geogray@geogray 7h7 hours ago

@VZWSupport Verizon is going to have NEW phones like the 950? Running Windows Mobile 10?

And the reply:

Verizon Wireless CS@VZWSupport 6h6 hours ago

@geogray Yes, we are planning to expand our Windows Mobile 10 device line up. The 950 was last year’s model. No date yet for our next.

So, maybe there is hope for Verizon users who want a great phone running Windows Mobile 10.

I am still skeptical, and my contract is not for a few more months, so, hopefully, my Icon will hold up and Big Red does, in fact, get a great Windows Mobile 10 phone.

Now, to their credit, they have been attentive to my coverage issue, but I do not know that they can really do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

