Retro Computer: Arduino Pro Mini stuffed in a keyboard

WP_20150325_16_25_02_ProSo, during the Half-Byte Console project, I purchased quite a few PS/2 style PC keyboards.  Since the project is pretty much over, I have a few of these keyboards still. They are actually fairly decent keyboards for the price.  Well, I had envisioned a future Half-Byte Computer living in something like a keyboard, like the old Commodore 64 or Vic 20.  So, I set out to build one.

I wanted to use one of my Half-Byte Console boards, alas, though, it is too big. Since I ordered a truckload of Arduino Mini Pro’s, and they are really small, I used one of them.

The first thing I had to do was figure out what I wanted in this thing and where to put the parts.WP_20150325_15_44_57_Pro

I grabbed one of the keyboards and took it apart. It is really simple, a standard membrane matrix with full travel keys.  However, even though it is a full size keyboard. there isn’t much room inside.  However, there’s enough for the mini pro, wires and not much else.  I had to cut holes for the power connector and video out.

WP_20150325_15_44_49_ProWhat I was not going to do this iteration was include sound, nunchuck or FTDI connectors.  That can all come later. I’m putting HB Tiny Basic  on the this one, so I won’t need to be programming it often. The nunchuck will be easy enough to add later, as will sound. Just not that industrious at the moment.

I cut the cable from the keyboard as the pc board inside is marked and easily accessible.  I wired it directly to the pro mini: data to pin 5 and clock to pin 4.

I decided to put the video jack on the left side,  but first had to cut a hole for the connector.WP_20150325_16_24_37_Pro  Next, I put the power jack on the bottom, where the keyboard’s cable came out. I had to enlarge that opening and super glue the connector.  Next, I wired up the video out jack and the two resistors (470 ohm and 1kohm) to the pro mini (470 ohm to pin  9 and 1k to pin 7 see my previous postings on the video out subject.)  Then the power was wired up and I tested the whole thing.  Amazingly, it worked.  It took two attempts at laying out the wire and board to get the case to  go back together and for all of the keys to work. 

WP_20150325_16_20_05_ProI now have my true retro computer, complete with Tiny Basic and blocky graphics.  Truly, an awe inspiring device.  Yep. Awe inspiring.

NOTE: yes, the wiring  is a bit sloppy, but I’m no Ben Heckendorn and this was for me.  I will clean it up when I add the other connectors.

4 thoughts on “Retro Computer: Arduino Pro Mini stuffed in a keyboard

  1. This is a brilliant project! I’ve downloaded the files from your downloads section and attempted to replicate your efforts. The issue I’m having is the libraries you’re using aren’t included and are proving to be elusive at best, nunchuck is a real issue. Can you include these files with your downloads section?

  2. Thank you for your kind remarks and major apologies for the lack of the libraries. Version 2 should have them all. However, you can grab the nunchuck library here: http://1drv.ms/1LqEH0i
    and V2 of Tiny Basic is here: https://halfbyteblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/26/its-here-half-byte-tiny-basic-2-for-arduino-and-compatibles-3/
    Let me know if you need anything else. The rest of the libraries should be the standard I2c and others. If you have a problem, feel free to post here and I’ll help.

    thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

