iOS 7 on older hardware: you should wait

I upgraded my 8gb iPhone 4 to iOS 7 when it released.  In the few days since the upgrade, however, I have experienced some anomolies with the upgrade. First off, it seems the NASCAR app is not compatible as it locked up the phone. I had to reset it to use it again.  While this may not be an issue for you, bear in mind that there will be apps that may not work or work well with iOS 7.

Next, while trying to setup one of the gestures, the OS started ‘scanning’ the screen, presenting options at each widget. The screen then became unresponsive.  After holding down the power and home buttons, I was able to reset the phone. Unfortunately, the touchscreen became unresponsive after about ten to twenty seconds.  I decided to restore the phone, but, because I have ‘find my iPhone’ enabled, I was unable to reset it with out turning off that feature.  Now, will someone tell me why it is this way? Yeah, I suppose it is a security ‘feature’, but, if my phone becomes unresponsive, how the hell am I supposed to fix it? Go to an Apple store?

Anyway, after twenty or so minutes and repeated restarts, I was able to close a few apps and get the phone responsive again.  There has to be a better way.  This process was enough to make me want to pull a Scott Bourne and toss the phone into the river.

While some Apple supplied apps are a bit faster, overall, however, this upgrade is akin to running Windows Vista on a machine designed for Windows 2000 or early XP: you might get it to work, but it won’t be pretty. There are so many features in iOS 7 that simply do not work on this earlier device I have to wonder why they thought it was a good idea. 

I know there are millions of iPhone 4 devices out there and those owners would be ticked (I would, I know) but, sometimes, things are better off left alone, like iPhone 4.  I am glad that Apple finally put it to rest, they should do that to the 4S as well.

This experience has, more than anything else, made me want to ditch the iPhone altogether now. I won’t go back to Android, that’s for sure.  I had given a fleeting thought to a Blackberry Z10, but, with their recent news and woe, I want a Windows Phone even more now.

Desire aside, other issues with the upgrade, for me, include confusing settings, the control center-which does not always popup- and animations that are just in the way.

If you have an older iPhone, a 4 or 4S, you may wish to wait for the inevitable ‘point’ release, which, I am sure, will be soon.  If you simply must upgrade, do so with caution. Make sure you back up first. And, good luck!a

7 thoughts on “iOS 7 on older hardware: you should wait

  1. I have the iPhone 5 and it works great, however one of my co-workers has the 4S and his phone has been very slow since he’s updated. If he starts typing there’s anywhere from a 3-15 second delay before the text appears. Not sure what’s going on there, but I’d be quite angry. Fortunately I haven’t had any issues and love iOS7.

    -avideogamelife.com

  2. I have the iPhone 4S, 16GB, and I upgraded to iOS 7 last week and I have to say that the 4S is running iOS 7 quite well. It’s been very smooth and responsive, just as much as with iOS 6. I really don’t have any major complaints about the combination. If I had a regular iPhone 4, despite Apple saying it will work, I may not have updated it due to the age of the hardware.

    But, like I said, the 4S has been great over the two years I’ve had it and likewise with iOS 7. At least that’s my experience with it.

    • That’s good to know. In all fairness to Apple, I may not have had the big issue I had if I had not tried to activate a feature that, clearly, required more memory than I had free (actual RAM, not storage.) I understand why Apple allowed it on the older hardware, but they probably should have done more testing. At any rate, it is buggy and I still think folks should wait for the point release before upgrading the older 4 and 4S hardware. If you do find a problem, or are still happy with it, please let us know and thanks for reading!

      • I questioned the decision to allow iOS 7 on the iPhone 4 due to its age. But I know a couple of people who still have the 4 and it seems to work okay. It’s a little bit slower than my 4S, but that’s expected. Otherwise, they don’t have any real complaints.

        Like I mentioned the other day, the 4S is rocking iOS 7 like a boss. No problems at all and silky smooth for me.

      • Other than the NASCAR app not working, I had no issues until I tried to change a setting with a dozen apps in the background. Happened again today, but I was trying to use Google Maps. Once I got a few apps closed, it started working again. So, looks like a memory issue. Going to update the post soon.

        Thanks for the update.

Leave a Reply

