I had to activate my Westinghouse television just to watch it…bad move, Westinghouse

Why are even the simplest of things made difficult these days?  Recently, our Vizio 32 inch flat panel television decided to take an eternal rest.  The set was in our bedroom and, to replace it on a temp basis, I used a spare Windows 7 computer and USB tuner stick.  Over the last few days, however, we decided to bite the bullet and buy a TV.  Best Buy had a 37 inch Westinghouse on sale for a really low price, so we got it.

Getting the set home from the store was easy (the Best Buy purchase online and pick up in store experience was outstanding, I might add) but setting it up, not so much.

As stated in a previous post, we have decided to go cable free, so I had to setup the over the air channels.  Much to my surprise, YOU MUST GO TO THE WESTINGHOUSE WEB SITE TO ACTIVATE YOUR TV. Mind you, you ONLY have to do this for the over the air detection. Are you kidding me?  REALLY? Sure enough, I had to select the model and enter the serial number of the set, get a code from the site and then enter it into the television via the remote.  (If you do not have ready access to the internet, they provide a toll free number to call.)  What the hell?

It was almost enough for me to take the set back to the store. Alas, the delayed Daytona 500 was starting and I did not want to miss it, so I continued the setup and watched the race. But, REALLY? Activate the detection feature? Westinghouse, you should be ashamed.  And it isn’t just this particular model either. They had dozens of models listed. DOZENS.  Seriously. Wait…Dozens?

This is Westinghouse. A company that is no longer the great company it used to be.  And they have dozens of models? Huh.  Who knew. 

At any rate, this company now knows that someone in this zip code needed to detect the 17 over the air channels.  While they don’t know who it is (they don’t, right?) the point is they force you to take an unnecessary step just to watch free tv.  It makes me wonder if Comcast, Time Warner or any number of cable outlets are forcing this type of thing.

What should have been a simple, straight forward step turned into something way more frustrating. Oh, and be careful when typing WESTINGHOUSEDIGITAL.COM. I kept misspelling it and kept going to this bizarre parking spot. I don’t think it is nefarious, just odd.  Maybe it was my mood, but this really rubbed me the wrong way. I have NEVER seen any television have to be ACTIVATED by the manufacturer. Ridiculous, plain and simple. Oh, my days of purchasing Westinghouse anything are over.

Digg This
6 thoughts on “I had to activate my Westinghouse television just to watch it…bad move, Westinghouse

  1. I have been on hold (and disconnected) for FOUR hours now. Have left mesages. Have sent texts, and even tried myself, just to get the access code but the web site is unavailable and NO-ONE will help me or respond. VERY FRUSTRATING!! Why all of this just to watch a few lousy channels of TV?

    • It is ridiculous. These are not even standout sets. Mediocre to OK, at best. I’d advise against using them as, you know TV’s, and just use them as monitors, if possible. Stick an Apple TV, Roku, PC or even a gaming console like the Xbox, PS3 or Wii U. You can get most TV shows that way, you just need a high speed internet connection. I know I’ll not be buying another Westinghouse anything.

  2. It makes me wonder if there is going to be a move like they have in the UK with TV licensing fees, and this sort of registration puts TV owners “on the radar.” Ridiculous!

    • That’s something I had not thought about…interesting idea. Westinghouse is the only company that I am aware of that does this. Doesn’t mean it won’t become mandatory or that others won’t follow though. Scary.

      • The Cable companies have to be in partnership with the TV Networks. Why do you have to program your TV in the US. I know that in Europe,cause you pay for a TV license, you have to program. And Westinghouse is now part of some European Conglomerate. Then again, all they want to do is make it to hard-as you yourself experianced- and make us buy some sort of cable !!

  3. We have several types of television…cable, which uses two or three signal types and over the air digital. Both require that the television ‘scan’ for active channels. Westinghouse forces you to ‘activate’ your TV’s scan function by entering its code on their website and then getting a similar code back and keying into your TV using your remote. It is absurd.

Leave a Reply

