Internet Explorer 8: is it a turkey or is it just a Vista problem?

OK, I’ve tried to like Internet Explorer 8, I really have.  I like its new features and the accelerators and web clippings are useful.  BUT…it is a real piece of junk.  It crashes way more than IE 7 did.  Most of the time, however, it just does not work.  Click a link and it opens a tab or new window and…does nothing.  It acts like it wants to render the page, it just never does.  Close it, try again, same result.  It gets really frustrating. 

Problem is, I think it is more a problem with Vista 64 bit trying to run IE 8 32bit.  I don’t know if it is just a crappy browser all around or if there is a plug in that has a problem with Vista 64.  I run IE 8 64bit just fine.  It NEVER crashes and always opens up whatever page I want it to open.  Unfortunately, there are zero plug ins for IE 8 64 bit.  That means no Flash. 

Now, when I was playing with Windows 7 on my now defunct HP Laptop (the old one) IE 8 32bit seemed to be OK.  So…is it just Vista?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that Internet Explorer 8, for me, is just a turd.  It is not enough to make me want to use Chrome, but I do find myself using Firefox 3 and Safari more and more. 

On May 5th, Microsoft will release the RC build of Windows 7.  I’m going to put it on my desktop.  With any luck, IE 8 will have been upgraded in that release and will just work.  I’m hoping it is just a Vista 64 bit issue.  Otherwise, I’ll be reduced to using Firefox….ugh.

Digg This

Leave a Reply

