I take Safari 4 beta for a spin

I finally got around to installing the Safari 4 beta.  I have to say that it is notably faster than anything else I have been using.  It smokes Chrome and leaves Firefox and IE in the dust.  It seems to render everything correctly and, graphically, looks a bit more polished than previous versions of Safari for Windows. 

  • What I liked

Of course, I like the speed…contrary to an earlier post of mine where I stated speed was not much of coverflowforSafari a factor to me.  It is nice not to wait more than a few seconds for a page to load.  It is even better when the page renders properly.  I also like the Coverflow bolt on.  I’m not a huge fan of Coverflow, but it seems to work here and is similar to a few add ons for Firefox and is also similar to IE’s quick view feature.  I rather like the minimalist approach as well.  IE and Firefox tend to get crowded in the upper quarter of the application. 

  • What I don’t like

Those damn tabs.  They are in the wrong place.  I also don’t like the way it imported my links from Internet Explorer.  I have not found much else that I don’t like.  Yet.

After I have used the browser a bit more, I may post more about the experience, though I don’t know what more I can say.  It is a browser, after all.  Safari 4 works well enough to use on a daily basis, but I am still sticking with IE 7 for now.  It’s my comfort zone, I suppose.  Safari for Windows (and now, the Windows 3.1 version as well, see below) is a competent browser and if you like Apple products then you should love Safari.  I am not a huge fan of Apple, but they’ve done a decent job with Safari 4.

Safari 4 running in Windows 3.1?

(the screen shot was taken while I was playing with a Windows 3.1 skin using Stardock’s Windowblinds.)

Digg This

2 thoughts on “I take Safari 4 beta for a spin

Leave a Reply

