Cool Kindle tip and more

(The cool tip is below…)

One of the drawbacks of the Kindle is that the screen is not backlit.  So, I bought a book light.  Problem is, I need to use the little cover that Amazon ships with the device in order to attach the light.  Well, I like to read while I am laying down and that makes holding the device in the cover a bit awkward.  Yesterday, I found the answer in the Yahoo! KindleKorner group.  The answer is so darn simple, I kick myself for not seeing it:  Take bottom of the strap and wrap it around the Close up of Kindle straplower right corner of the device.  Reference the photo to see what I am referring to.

There is a better cover in the works, check it out here.

(More…)

Always in search of ways to get more content, and to possibly save a penny or two, I went searching for alternatives to Amazon.  Well, so far, there aren’t any as Amazon has a pretty good system in place.  However, there are a couple of sites that do offer services close enough to Amazon to be useful.  Feedbooks.com, which I’ve written about before, is a good alternative.  Another one is Manybooks.net. Manybooks is a site that lists ebooks that in the public domain and are available for download right on the device.  The texts appear to be from the Gutenberg project.

I encourage anyone who owns a Kindle to join the Yahoo! group.  There is a good community there and lots of useful information.

3 thoughts on “Cool Kindle tip and more

  1. I don’t really understand this tip of yours. I found a book light that integrates with the Kindle case I already had. Both products are through M-Edge Accessories. I read my Kindle on planes (a lot of redeyes) and since it doesn’t have a backlight I needed a solution.

  2. I don’t really understand this tip of yours. I found a book light that integrates with the Kindle case I already had. Both products are through M-Edge Accessories. I read my Kindle on planes (a lot of redeyes) and since it doesn’t have a backlight I needed a solution.

  3. The Kindle comes with a leather-like slip case-cover.  I bought a book light to use with the Kindle, but the clip is not fat enough to clip on the device itself, so I use the Kindle in the slip-case and attach the light to the slip-case.  Problem was that the slip-case only has two ‘holders’ for the Kindle’s left side.  The right side is not held in place.  So, using the tip that I linked to, I wrap the elastic strap around the bottom right of the device to hold in place a bit better, as shown in my crappy photo above.

Leave a Reply

