Dead technology

I was going through some things looking for a specific memory card (those tiny little things are a real pain in the rear to keep up with) and came across two of the Juice Box media players that I have.  Then I found my old Palm IIIc.  That got me looking around for dead or obsolete tech. Boy, I found all kinds of crap.  Among the items I found include:

    • Palm IIIc
    • Palm Zire 31zire
    • Palm III (monochrome)
    • Compaq Aero hand held
    • Toshiba Satellite 110 laptop
    • Proscan VCR
    • Pioneer Laserdisc
    • Mattel Juice Box media player
    • Nintendo Gamecube
    • Microsoft XBOX
    • Handheld televisions (one a Sony color set and the other a BW Realistic, both have 2 inch screens)
    • Iomega Zip Disk Drive and diskettes
    • 3 inch floppies
    • an old 40 mb digital tape
    • several old digital cameras
    • Panasonic VHS-C camcorder
    • Panasonic all in one printer/fax/scanner
    • numerous add on cards for ISA/Local Bus
    • numerous ATI All in Wonder tuner cards
    • A crap load of software

Most of the gadgets, except for the IIIc, still function.  In fact, I still use the Zire as well as the Toshiba laptop and both game consoles.  The point is that I’ve got a lot of old tech crap sitting here.  It also makes me wonder what else I have that will be dead tech in a few years.  The Kindle maybe? How about the Zune?  Certainly the HP computers will be.  Most of this stuff I will still use, though.  Just because it is old or considered dead and obsolete does not mean it is no longer useful. The Zire, for instance, works great and not only is it a great organizer, it also plays games and is a fair media player.  I can put it in my pocket rather easily.  Granted, I don’t use it all that much, but I do use it.  

Some devices die due to poor marketing, while others die because the market just went away.  Take the JuiceBox. This was Mattel’s attempt to enter the burgeoning kiddie media player market.  It failed not because the device is junk, quite the opposite, but because they did not market it right and it was too expensive for the target audience.  The PDA, however, died because the market was replaced by the smartphone.  In the case of those ATI All in Wonders, they will really be irrelevant once the plug is pulled on analog television.

So, how much dead tech do you have?  Do you still use any of it?  What do you think will become a dead tech?  I’d really be interested in what you think.  You can either post a comment or drop me an email (geogray at live.com) and I’ll post them here.

3 thoughts on “Dead technology

  1. the other day I found the cassette player and a cassette I used with my trs80. I also found the top cover of the computer but that’s all. good memories though…

  2. I loved those machines!  I remember trying to build one.  I bought a blank TRS-80 pc board and all of the parts.  I think we got the board working, but I don’t remember if we ever got the ROMS.  I seem to recall that by the time that little project was about done, I had a TRS-80 Color Computer and lost interest in the other.  I remember those bloody tapes, though.  Talk about slow!

Leave a Reply

