Spore problems

I succumbed to the pressure Sunday afternoon and bought a copy of Spore.  I didn’t quite rush home to install it, though.  A storm named Hannah postponed both Friday and Saturday NASCAR events here in Richmond and forced them to run on Sunday.  The big event ran at 1 and the secondary Nationwide event started at seven.  So, I had just enough time in between to get the game and run a few errands.  Well, once I had the game installed, I attempted to run. Several times.  Each time I was warned by the game that there was no Internet connection and that the game needed one to verify that I had not stolen the game:

“The game can not start.
The game needs access to the internet in order to verify ownership of this game. Please ensure that your computer is online and try again
.”

Say what?  I have friggin receipt that says I overpaid fifty bucks for this, don’t bloody well tell me that now you need to verify ownership.  I almost uninstalled the thing to take back to Target for a refund.  My desire to create funky and nerdy little creatures, however, was greater than my principles.  Too bad.  I should have returned it.  I did some searching on EA’s site first and found just the usual unhelpful dribble that they put out hoping you won’t get upset because they think you are a thief.  More searching, however, revealed that I was not the only one.  Apparently, people who BOUGHT the Spore Creature Creator (for ten bucks, no less—it’s free with the game and I guarantee you won’t get a ten dollar discount from them either) also had the same problem.  Yeah, no kidding.  Turns out, some smarter than me soul figured out the correct net settings and created a handy batch file to fix the problem.  You can grab it here.  You will need to run it as Administrator.  As far as I know, it is a Vista thing.  I got lazy and quit reading about it once the game started. 

What a crock this is.  I THINK I am not stupid.  I also THINK I’m not a thief, though EA assumed that I am.  I THINK this will be the last EA computer game I buy.  A shame, too.  I was looking forward to getting Sim City 4…it’s finally at a price point that I’m willing to pay.  Maybe when I see it for ten bucks, I may rethink my position.  I’m wondering how many ‘normal’ people will buy this and have the same issue I did.

 

NOTE:  the download location is safe as is the batch file.  For those interested, the batch file’s ‘guts’ look like this:  (There’s nothing nefarious.)

netsh interface tcp set global rss=disabled

netsh interface tcp set global chimney=disabled

netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal

netsh interface tcp set global congestionprovider=none

netsh interface tcp set global ecncapability=disabled

netsh interface tcp set global timestamps=disabled

netsh interface tcp show global

 

The only name I found in the batch, for credit, is Marluxia.Kyoshu.  So, thank you Marluxia.Kyoshu.

Leave a Reply

