Venturer Digital Television Converter and Universal Remotes

A while back, I wrote about the Venturer Digital Television converter box that I got at Target.  At the time, I mistakenly thought that the remote that came with the device could be programmed.  I later found out that it could not be programmed.  Part of the confusion was an insert in the package that I mis-understood.  As it turns out, it listed six brands of universal remotes that, if you use the SATELLITE receiver set up codes listed, they will allow that remote to control the Venturer.  So, I purchased a Phillips Universal remote, also at target, for about $14.95 (as with many electronic devices at Target, it was clearanced shortly after for $9.95.)  While I don’t remember the exact model number for the remote, I do remember that setup code 0664 worked like a charm.  The insert, by the way, was only in one of the two units I purchased.  In case it is not your package, the table below may help.

Brand

Setup Code

ONE FOR ALL

0749, 1749, 0790, 1285, 0819, 5073

RCA

5073

Philips

0765, 0864, 0465, 0564, 0664, 0362, 0858, 0064, 0164, 0764

Jensen

5073

Radio Shack

0749, 1749, 0749, 0790, 1285

Toshiba

019

Remember to use the SATELLITE setup when programming your remote. All of the functions worked, even the setup menu was navigable with the universal remote.

2 thoughts on “Venturer Digital Television Converter and Universal Remotes

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

